Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Department of English
Faculty
Home > People > Faculty


 

Name Position/Research Area Contact Office
Arch, Stephen

Professor
Early American Studies and 19th-Century American Literature

arch@msu.edu
884-4419

C608 Wells Hall

Askari, Kaveh

Associate Professor
Film Studies

askarik1@msu.edu
884-4460

C709 Wells Hall 
Aslami, Zarena

Associate Professor
19th-Century British Literature and Culture

aslami@msu.edu
884-4425

C619 Wells Hall

Boyadjian, Tamar

Assistant Professor 
Medieval Studies

tamar@msu.edu
884-4437

C611 Wells Hall

Burns, Brian

Assistant Professor-Fixed Term

burnsbr2@msu.edu
884-4450

C648 Wells Hall

Butler, Tamara

Assistant Professor
African American Literature and Culture / English Education and Critical Literacies

tbutler@msu.edu

C705 Wells Hall

Cilano, Cara

Chairperson

cilano@msu.edu

 
Contreras, Sheila

Associate Professor
20th-Century and Contemporary Literature / US Latin@ Literature, Film, and Culture / Women's Studies

sheilac@msu.edu
884-4433
884-6767

C627 Wells Hall

320 Linton Hall

Deng, Stephen

Associate Professor
Early Modern Literature and Culture

dengs@msu.edu
884-4426

C620 Wells Hall

Effiong, Philip

Associate Professor-Fixed Term

effiongp@msu.edu
884-4451

C648 Wells Hall

Eriksen, Telaina

Assistant Professor-Fixed Term
Creative Writing

telaina@msu.edu

884-4451

C646 Wells Hall

Eswaran Pillai, Swarnavel

Associate Professor
Film Studies / Creative Writing

eswaran@msu.edu
884-4446

C643 Wells Hall

Figueroa, Yomaira

Assistant Professor
Latin@ Caribbean/Afro-Latin@ Studies / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature / US Latin@ Literature, Film, and Culture

yomairaf@msu.edu
884-4413

C600 Wells Hall

Fitzpatrick, Kathleen

Director of Digital Humanities/Professor

kfitz@msu.edu

 
Goeringer, Lyn

Assistant Professor
Film Studies / Music

goering4@msu.edu
432-0145

308 Music Practice Building

Guzzetta, Juliet

Assistant Professor
Dramatic Literature / Performance Studies / Italian Studies

guzzetta@msu.edu

884-4447

C644 Wells Hall

Harrow, Kenneth

Professor
African American Literature and Culture / African and African Diaspora Studies / Film Studies / Postcolonial Literature and Culture

harrow@msu.edu
884-4439

C635 Wells Hall

Hassan, Salah

Associate Professor
Arab American and Muslim American Studies / Postcolonial Literature and Culture

hassans3@msu.edu
884-4438

C634 Wells Hall

Henry, Gordon

Professor
Creative Writing / Native American Literature / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

henryg@msu.edu
884-4427

C621 Wells Hall

Hoppenstand, Gary

Professor
Film Studies / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

hoppens2@msu.edu
884-4454

C702 Wells Hall

Hsu, Carleen Ling-an Professor of Practice
Film Studies and the Media and Information Dept. in Communication Arts
hsucarle@msu.edu
516-983-5797
 
Johnsen, William

Professor
20th Century British Literature / Modernism

johnsen@msu.edu
884-4455

C703 Wells Hall

Johnson, Lamar

Assistant Professor
English Education

john5589@msu.edu

C615 Wells Hall

Johnston, Peter Film Production Specialist

john2950@msu.edu
884-4441

C637 Wells Hall

Juzwik, Mary

Professor
English Education

mmjuzwik@msu.edu

308 Eriksen Hall
Lam, Joshua

Assistant Professor-Fixed Term
Modernism / 19th- and 20th-Century American Literature / African American Literature and Culture / Popular Culture

jdlam@msu.edu
432-3910

312 Linton Hall

Larabee, Ann

Professor
20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

larabee@msu.edu
884-4432

C626 Wells Hall

Logan, Sandra

Associate Professor
Early Modern Literature and Culture

logans@msu.edu
884-4452

C700 Wells Hall

Ma, Sheng-mei

Professor
Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies / Film Studies / Postcolonial Literature and Culture / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

mash@msu.edu
353-3764

C603 Wells Hall

Mahoney, Kristin

Associate Professor
Victorian Literature / Modernism

mahone95@msu.edu
884-4440

C636 Wells Hall
McCallum, Ellen

Associate Chairperson for Undergraduate Studies/Associate Professor
Critical Theory / Film Studies / Queer Theory /Feminist Studies/ LGBTQ Studies /American literature

emc@msu.edu
884-4430

C624 Wells Hall

Michaelsen, Scott

Professor
Critical Theory /Film Studies / Native American Culture / 19th-Century American Literature / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature / US Latin@ Literature, Film, and Culture

smichael@msu.edu
884-4453

C701 Wells Hall

Mihailova, Mihaela

Postdoctoral Fellow
Film Studies

mihailo5@msu.edu
884-4439

C635 Wells Hall 
Mowry, Ruth Advising Specialist

mowry@msu.edu
355-8387

C613 Wells Hall

Nieland, Justus

Associate Chair of Graduate Studies/Professor
Film Studies / Modernism / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

nieland@msu.edu
884-4477

C641 Wells Hall

O'Donnell, Patrick

Professor
Critical Theory /Film Studies / Modernism / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

pod@msu.edu
355-7576

C641 Wells Hall

Paris, Rae

Assistant Professor
African American Literature and Culture / Creative Writing / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature / Women's Literature

rparis@msu.edu
884-4418

C606 Wells Hall

Penn, William

Professor
Creative Writing / Native American Literature

penn@msu.edu

884-4458

C706 Wells Hall

Petchauer, Emery

Associate Professor
Coordinator of English Education program

petchau1@msu.edu

884-4413

C600 Wells Hall

Phillips, Natalie M.

Assistant Professor 
18th-Century British Literature

nmp@msu.edu

884-4412 

C602 Wells Hall

Rachman, Stephen

Associate Professor
19th-century American literature / Film Studies

rachman@msu.edu

884-4421

C610 Wells Hall

Raphael, Lev

Assistant Professor-Fixed Term
Creative Writing, 19th Century American Literature, and 20th Century and Contemporary Literature, Jewish-American Literature, Holocaust Literature

raphael3@msu.edu

884-4449

C646 Wells Hall

Seaton, James

Professor
19th and 20th Century American literature and culture/Critical Theory/History of Criticism/Law and Literature

seaton@msu.edu
884-4460

C709 Wells Hall

Silbergleid, Robin

Associate Professor
Creative Writing / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature / Women's Literature

silberg1@msu.edu
884-4409

C601 Wells Hall

Singh, Jyotsna

Professor
Early Modern Literature and Culture / Film Studies / Postcolonial Literature and Culture

jsingh@msu.edu
884-4459

C708 Wells Hall

Stoddart, Judith

Associate Professor
19th-Century British Literature

stoddart@msu.edu
884-4429

C623 Wells Hall

Stowe, David

Professor
20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

stowed@msu.edu
355-7575

C617 Wells Hall

Teahan, Sheila

Associate Professor
19th-century American literature / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

teahan@msu.edu
884-4428

C622 Wells Hall

Valadez, John

Professor of Practice
Film Studies & Documentary Production

valadez3@msu.edu

270 Communication Arts and Sciences

Valles, Margot

Assistant Professor—Fixed Term
Jewish Studies

vallesm@msu.edu

C623 Wells Hall

Victor, Divya

Assistant Professor
Creative Writing / 20th-Century and Contemporary Transnational Poetry and Poetics

victordi@msu.edu
884-4449

C646 Wells Hall

Vincent, William

Professor
Creative Writing / Film Studies

vincentw@msu.edu
355-9534

C645 Wells Hall

Watts, Edward

Professor
Early American Studies / 19th-Century American Literature

wattse@msu.edu
884-4420

C609 Wells Hall

Wray, Jeff

Professor
African American Literature and Culture / Creative Writing / Film Studies / 20th-Century and Contemporary Literature

wrayj@msu.edu
884-4442

C638 Wells Hall

Yumibe, Joshua

Associate Professor
Director of Film Studies
Film History, Modernism, Critical Theory 

yumibe@msu.edu
884-4443

C639 Wells Hall

Emeriti Research Area Contact  
Aldrich, Marcia Professor aldrich@msu.edu  
Gochberg, Donald Professor gochberg@msu.edu  
Goodson, Clint Professor    
Gross, Barry Professor barrygross35
@yahoo.com
 
McClintock, James Professor mcclint1@msu.edu  
McGuire, Philip Professor mcguire@msu.edu  

Pollak, Ellen

Professor
Feminist Theory l 18th-Century British Literature and Culture

pollak@msu.edu  
Robinson, Randal Professor robins29@msu.edu  
Smitherman, Geneva

Professor, Executive Committee, African American and African Studies
Sociolinguistics; African American Studies

smither4@msu.edu  
Stalker, James Professor stalker@msu.edu  
Stock, Patricia Professor plstock@msu.edu  
Tavormina, Teresa Professor tavrmina@msu.edu  
Wilson, Marilyn Director of English Education/Professor
English Education
wilsonm@msu.edu

517-355-1899